Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Pox on the creator of Windows 10

  1. #11
    Master Navigator
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Queensgate
    Posts
    2,035
    Quote Originally Posted by W3WN View Post
    i accept donations. Just sayin...

    Does the card manufacturer make a Win X driver available? If so, did you download and try it?
    GeForce 6600 is considered a legacy product, not compatible with Windows so, generic drivers make it work but does not unlock all of the features.

    Rent a U-haul and let me know when you will be arriving.

  2. #12
    Master Navigator
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Queensgate
    Posts
    2,035
    Quote Originally Posted by kom View Post
    Yup, it's time to move on............
    ........To another cup of Coffee.

    In the immortal words of Scarlet O'Hara, "Tomorrow is another day."

    I pulled and re-installed the auxiliary sound card; at no time did my hands leave my body but, PRESTO -- inputs and outputs ported in correct directions and now, FT-8 is being decoded -- "FM"! (Fuggin' Magic!)

    The issue with the Video card is still there but, I really don't NEED two screens to work radio, the second was parked on QRZ so that I could look up the name behind the call and insert it in my RRR-73's message.

    Never say "Die" until there is no more Coffee to mull my problems over.

  3. #13
    Whacker Knot WTKX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Lakewood, CO
    Posts
    26,509
    That's good. Got my old dual Core AMD with an AGP GeForce 6200 running with Bodhi Linux.
    About a week ago. Still needs tweaking and a few more apps, but it's good.
    Using the Brave Browser.

    Sooooo, this pox is the fault of Bill Gates or Obama?

    Or both? Asking for a friend.
    Most of the time we are punished if we go against the trend. Only at an inflection point are we rewarded. ~ George Soros



  4. #14
    Volcano Tamer n2ize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Crestwood, New York
    Posts
    33,885
    Run Windows 7 on a Virtual Machine. Or run Linux on a virtual machine.
    I keep my 2 feet on the ground, and my head in the twilight zone.

  5. #15
    'Grumpy old bastid' kb2vxa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Lakewood, NJ
    Posts
    12,632
    My main OS is W7 Ultimate because I like it, I used W10 on another machine for a time, don't like it. I have XP on the Virtual Box to run some legacy Amateur Radio apps that served well. I'm not one to keep up with the Kardashians, I stay with what works well for me until the bitter end. That's me, but there are two ways to mix and match systems, main / virtual and dual boot, you can do so much with so little.

    I ran my NVIDIA GeForce GT610 video card into the ground, the fan died, so I replaced it with the 710 fanless card, bye bye weak link. I don't know why the drivers refused to install, no matter, it works just fine with the 610 drivers. Both support a dual monitor system, I had one I found extremely useful before I landed in these cramped quarters. The main monitor runs off the DVI port, the auxiliary off the VGA port, and in the middle is an HDMI port for connection to your TV with a screen as big as Texas.
    "New Jersey, the most American of all states. It has everything from wilderness to the Mafia. All the great things and all the worst, like Route 22."
    Jean Shepherd K2ORS (SK) & WOR radio personality

    We live in a world where we have to hide to make love, while violence is practiced in broad daylight.
    John Lennon

    73 de Warren KB2VXA
    Station powered by atomic energy, operator powered by natural gas.

  6. #16
    Master Navigator
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Queensgate
    Posts
    2,035
    My DVR (Pentium 4 in living room) is running Win7, my laptop with my terminal programs and Putty is running Vista; the Win-10 machine (Duo-Core) with my LoTW / Radio life; I have a 2012 15 inch MBP running Ubuntu 14.05 and decoding Trunked Radio Scanner traffic, My DVR Client (Quad -core) machine which delivers TV and content to my bedroom is Win-10.

    My traveling computers are either a 2015 MBP or a Touch screen Dell (Quad-Core) running Win-10.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •