Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: TS-930S Upgrade Project

  1. #11
    Island Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Canberra, VK1
    Posts
    28
    Very nice. But that radio is too modern/crowded for my liking. I prefer my Corsair II for tinkering.


    For those who don't know, you can measure the bandwidth of the demodulated signal with the help of a sound card and some free software:

    https://www.qsl.net/pa2ohh/12audiosa.htm

    https://www.dxzone.com/catalog/Softw...rum_analyzers/

    There is stuff for Android as well, in those cases you can even use the phone's microphone to make the spectral analysis.


    73,
    Carlos

  2. #12
    Administrator N8YX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Out in the sticks
    Posts
    26,046
    You ain't seen "crowded" yet!

    The next part of this project details construction and installation of dual roofing filters and the switching assembly used to activate them. Of course, as luck would have it I found a YK-88A1 on FleaBay the day after I posted the DIY AM Filter mod...
    "Everyone wants to be an AM Gangsta until it's time to start doing AM Gangsta shit."

  3. #13
    Beach Bum KA2PTE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Veryork
    Posts
    63
    Got any photos of the MARS mod to the digital pcb? Thought I saw one online someplace.
    --
    "Get the US out of the middle east and get the middle east out of the US."
    (Vic Misek W1WCR, co founder of the Liberty net , SK)

  4. #14
    Administrator N8YX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Out in the sticks
    Posts
    26,046
    There's a jumper pad set on the bottom of the board. I think it's J3 but will verify that (with an email I have from Piexx). You have to bridge the pads to activate it.
    "Everyone wants to be an AM Gangsta until it's time to start doing AM Gangsta shit."

  5. #15
    Beach Bum KA2PTE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Veryork
    Posts
    63
    Ok I confirmed its in there, I see the jumpers to the IC chips. This is the stock digital board.
    --
    "Get the US out of the middle east and get the middle east out of the US."
    (Vic Misek W1WCR, co founder of the Liberty net , SK)

  6. #16
    Administrator N8YX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Out in the sticks
    Posts
    26,046
    Stock digital board requires a bit more work to get general-coverage TX.

    Mods.dk and a couple other sites have the info.

    I have one from a 5mil S/N '930S. If you want the thing, I can send it out.
    "Everyone wants to be an AM Gangsta until it's time to start doing AM Gangsta shit."

  7. #17
    Beach Bum KA2PTE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Veryork
    Posts
    63
    Sure. I guess its a better design than the older serials? Same number of connectors?
    --
    "Get the US out of the middle east and get the middle east out of the US."
    (Vic Misek W1WCR, co founder of the Liberty net , SK)

  8. #18
    Beach Bum KA2PTE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Veryork
    Posts
    63
    Was curious if u ever did the alignment on your 930? If so what were the things that
    you found needed adjusting?
    --
    "Get the US out of the middle east and get the middle east out of the US."
    (Vic Misek W1WCR, co founder of the Liberty net , SK)

  9. #19
    Administrator N8YX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Out in the sticks
    Posts
    26,046
    Quote Originally Posted by KA2PTE View Post
    Was curious if u ever did the alignment on your 930? If so what were the things that
    you found needed adjusting?
    The only outstanding item I have to address is the ALC indication. It's way off kilter at the moment though the rig doesn't distort on TX.
    "Everyone wants to be an AM Gangsta until it's time to start doing AM Gangsta shit."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •