Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Meltdown

  1. #1
    Volcano Tamer n2ize's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Crestwood, New York
    Posts
    33,855

    Meltdown

    linux sys admins... Changes to the Linux kernel to mitigate the impact of "Meltdown"

    https://fedoramagazine.org/protect-f...stem-meltdown/

    How KTPI is utilized to protect against the "Meltdown" vulnerability.

    https://fedoramagazine.org/kpti-new-...gate-meltdown/
    I keep my 2 feet on the ground, and my head in the twilight zone.

  2. #2
    Whacker Knot WTKX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Evergreen, CO
    Posts
    26,247
    I've done some updates to Windows 10.

    My main PC is AMD. Almost immune. Yay.
    "Laugh-a while you can, monkey-boy" ~ Dr. Emilio Lizardo



  3. #3
    Fertility Shaman NM5TF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico-- more left than right
    Posts
    630
    my main distro is ARCH which uses the 4.14 series kernels, I am downloading 4.14.12-1 as I type this......
    and my CPUs are AMD.....

    supposed to already be patched for MELTDOWN......no known patch/fix for SPECTRE as yet.....devs/vendors
    are working it....
    Last edited by NM5TF; 01-06-2018 at 11:17 PM.
    my personal web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost
    Arch Linux, Solus 3.9999 Linux, Linux Mint 18.3
    "If you're not living on the edge, then you're taking up too much space"--Unknown

  4. #4
    Whacker Knot WTKX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Evergreen, CO
    Posts
    26,247
    Got my patches for Windows 10 Pro Amd and Windows Phone 10 today.

    Oh my. The Intertubes are hot about this...
    "Laugh-a while you can, monkey-boy" ~ Dr. Emilio Lizardo



  5. #5
    Forum Addict WZ7U's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Upper left - CN86jc
    Posts
    3,440
    My machine seems to always bug me to do this or that update, which almost always causes issues with my printer.

    Crickets...

    As an appliance operator, should I just go hide in the snow somewhere? (If so, I need some of yours; I have none at this altitude)
    Signature void - please reinsert credentials or call tech support

  6. #6
    Volcano Tamer W2NAP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    W2NAP
    Posts
    5,942
    fedora had the patch out couple days ago.
    I AM THE VOICE OF THE VOICELESS!

  7. #7
    Fertility Shaman NM5TF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Magdalena,New Mexico-- more left than right
    Posts
    630
    the latest Arch kernel upgrade, 4.14.15, has the mitigation for MELTDOWN & SPECTRE v1 & 2

    great...except for 1 thing....at boot I am getting an error " LFENCE not serializing...switching to Generic RETPOLINE"

    and now my monitor resolution is stuck at 1280x720 instead of 1920x1080 like it should be/was before the upgrade...

    have tried installing new mode via xrandr...getting error about gamma setting now.....tried setting gamma via xrandr...no go...

    can't created a new xrandr mode because of errors.....

    no help on the forums so far either....

    system is Dell Inspiron legacy about 10 years old now with nvidia graphic card of course...

    damn frustrating !!!
    my personal web page http://users.gilanet.com/~tfrost
    Arch Linux, Solus 3.9999 Linux, Linux Mint 18.3
    "If you're not living on the edge, then you're taking up too much space"--Unknown

  8. #8
    Forum Addict n6hcm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Syracuse NY USA
    Posts
    2,528
    So you updated too soon... :)
    "... and another thing about you democrats ... you all believe in science!" -- denny crane

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •