Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner questions

Beginner questions

Hi again everybody. So as I have already explained, I am totally new to the world of Ham radio and as yet don't even have a license. I want to start studying towards my general license but I do not have the spare time to physically attend classes. My life is pretty hectic at the moment. So I have been looking at a few online options. I have come across www. hamclass.net. $59 to enroll in the course. Does that sound fair? Can anybody vouch for the reliability of the training? Or are there better resources out there that you would recommend instead? I was also starting to take a look for suitable beginners equipment on http://www.used.forsale/ with a view to saving some money towards a purchase once I have obtained my license. I think something reasonably affordable and beginner friendly would fit the ticket while I am just starting out. Does anybody have any recommendations for a radio that would be suitable? Is there a particular make or model that best for newbies? Thanks in advance for any pointers folks.

white_question_mark.png
    Last edited by China; 05-16-2017 at 02:07 AM.

Buy the book. Take with you everywhere. Memorize the entire contents. Take the test.
    The ARRL book explains everything the best and just because you're memorizing doesn't mean you're not learning. The real learning comes when you get hands on.

Find an elmer near you that can give help, studying from books can be intimidating without personal help.
    That is how i have trained new license holders to their exam, personal advise, help in electronics, and the explanation of stuff they didn't understand.

radio?depends on your interests as you get your license, here the elmer is also a good help, certainly if it is a ham, and can show you the world of ham radio from H.F. up to millimeter waves.