Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: working qrp

Banned

working qrp

I am just getting into homebrew qrp, my question is how to cq in cw. should I call "de aa8kt/qrp aa8kt/qrp or just aa8kt/qrp aa8kt aa8kt or just call aa8kt ? Tnx fer advice

Peter AA8KT

Peter,

Welcome to the Island!

When I work low-power CW I usually send a 3x1 CQ and append my call with a /QRP.

Better to get a lot of short CQs out there with a call when running low power than one long one which may or may not be subject to fading or QRN.

Of course, YMMV. ;)
    "Everyone wants to be an AM Gangsta until it's time to start doing AM Gangsta shit."

Banned
    TNX. I like that better than what I suggested.

Banned
    Northwest Arkansas (Ozark-St.Francis National Forest)

I usually check into the Razorback Net
    (3987.5, nightly at 6:30 pm central time zone)
    with the Icom IC-706 cranked down to 5 watts.

On CW, I seek out weaker CQs in hope of working QRP stations.
    But I mostly run barefoot (100 watts) for any stateside QSO.

If you're QRP, best keep your transmissions short,
    so the other station can continue to hold the frequency.

Some say, that life is too short for QRP...
    but the problem may likely be too short an antenna. ;)
    Last edited by W9JEF; 03-13-2014 at 11:47 AM.

Banned
    To amend the question, for qrp operators out there. I am getting a 40meter Pixie tranceiver with a CW decoder and will be running a longwire. Is there anything else I need to get on the air??

Quote Originally Posted by AA8KT View Post
    To amend the question, for qrp operators out there. I am getting a 40meter Pixie tranceiver with a CW decoder and will be running a longwire. Is there anything else I need to get on the air??