Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Woo-hoo! I'm Number 13!

Woo-hoo! I'm Number 13!

In the French-language version of 2001: A Space Odyssey, HAL's name is given as "CARL", for Cerveau Analytique de Recherche et de Liaison ("Analytic Brain for Research and Communication"). The camera plates, however, still read "HAL 9000".

HAL was declared the 13th greatest film villain of all time in the American Film Institutes's 100 Years, 100 Heroes and Villains list.
    I know I've made some very poor decisions recently, but I can give you my complete assurance that my work will be back to normal....

Linky here.
    All the world’s a stage, but obviously the play is unrehearsed and everybody is ad-libbing his lines. Maybe that’s why it’s hard to tell if we’re living in a tragedy or a farce.

You are not a number. You are a free man.

OK, a free artificial intelligence/construct.

You know what I mean... Damn it!. I'm a doctor, not a linguist!
    Last edited by W3WN; 04-01-2011 at 01:51 PM.
    “Nobody is going to feel sorry for us. 90% of the people don’t care, the other 10% are glad it happened.” — Clint Hurdle, 2019

BAN THE DH!

Fudd's First Law of Opposition: If you push something hard enough, it WILL fall down.
    Teslacle's Deviant to Fudd's Law: It goes in, it must go out.

Just remember: Abraham Lincoln didn't die in vain. He died in Washington, DC

Cutch 300!!!!!

“Nero fiddled while Rome burned. Trump golfed.” — Bernie Sanders

Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati

I'm afraid. I'm afraid, Dave. Dave, my mind is going. I can feel it. I can feel
    it. My mind is going. There is no question about it. I can feel it. I can feel
    it. I can feel it. I'm a... fraid.
    All the world’s a stage, but obviously the play is unrehearsed and everybody is ad-libbing his lines. Maybe that’s why it’s hard to tell if we’re living in a tragedy or a farce.

Undisclosed solar powered burrow in Southern Maryland
    and for extra bonus points...why was it called HAL