Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Ham - Same old Question

Conch Master

New Ham - Same old Question

I am new to Ham Radio. I just got my licenses (Tech and General) in Feb. I had intended to fix an old Cubic RT-1131 Radio, but my skills suggest I might want to get another radio in the mean time. I don't think I am interested in 2m, 70cm, etc.. I'd like to go with HF and maybe 6 meter (AM/SSB/CW). Can anybody recommend a reliable used 100w desktop/portable that is cheap and resellable? My wife said I have to sell off some hobbies before starting new ones. I'm looking at selling my trap gun to buy the radio. :chin:

I really like my ricebox, Yaesu FT-897D.
    If I had to choose one cheap radio to do about anything, that'd be it...and it was.
    They're cheapish, and can do a little of everything.

"Bacon, Beans and Limousines"
    "Actually, it's a Democratic Republic; Democratic comes first".
    Please don't confuse my personality with my attitude. My personality is obviously me, But my attitude depends largely upon you.

Icom IC-7800. Fine beginners radio. Hook it up to a SteppIR DB36 antenna and you've a good starting point.

Seriously, the Icom IC-718 and Yaesu FT-450 would be good radios to look at. They're both very basic, but reliable and not too expensive.
    Last edited by NQ6U; 03-31-2011 at 04:39 PM.
    All the world’s a stage, but obviously the play is unrehearsed and everybody is ad-libbing his lines. Maybe that’s why it’s hard to tell if we’re living in a tragedy or a farce.

Conch Master
    Quote Originally Posted by KJ6BSO View Post
    Icom IC-7800. Fine beginners radio. Hook it up to a SteppIR DB36 antenna and you've a good starting point.

Seriously, the Icom IC-718 and Yaesu FT-450 would be good radios to look at. They're both very basic, but reliable and not too expensive.
    The 7800 huh, that runs about $100 per word spoken over it? Icom IC-718 sounds great. I have an R-71A so I guess I'm partial to Icom.