Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Facebook Friends...

Facebook Friends...

I am new to the Facebook scene. I am still trying to figure many things out. One of those things is how the FB system tracks me and puts me together with recommendations they sometimes seem to pull out of their cyber-ass.

Some few I know. Some more are friends of friends I know. A bunch are kids of friends of mine, and friends of the kids -- none of whom do I know. I only know the little I know by having done a minimal amount of research into the FB pages of these "someones" I may allegedly know. Weird. Many, furthermore, are folks I have never heard of and don't seem to have any link with me, however remote, and they are distributed over a very wide range of the country.

Today, I noticed a "someone you may know" listing for Fred Lloyd.

If ever there were an illustration of how easily the gummint might run us down one by desperate one and pin us to cards like an eight year-old's collection of beetles, this FB thing is kind of interesting. On the one hand, it shows the positive power of the internet; on the other, however, it can definitely be creepy.

My FB jury is still sequestered.
    73 de Albi

Veritas vos liberabit!

"We only become what we are by the radical and deep-seated refusal of that which others have made of us." --- Jean-Paul Sartre.

"Who controls the past, controls the future. Who controls the present, controls the past." --- George Orwell.

I'm there, because of family and friends pestering me. But I stay pretty inactive.

I let my Farm-Ville plot go to rot... I got a lot of spam from that.
    "Where would we be without the agitators of the world to attach the electrodes
    of knowledge to the nipples of ignorance?" ~ Professor "Dick" Soloman