PDA

View Full Version : Loop project

KU0DM
10-26-2008, 10:00 AM
Hey gang, am working on a loop antenna this time. Another project where I have no experience, so lets get ta learnin!

What I want to do, is remove my 320' dipole at the farm, and in its place make a nice big loop.
I have a vertical down there for DX, and am looking for something that will work great for stateside for contests and just ragchew every now and then.

Some info:
I can feed it with 450 ohm ladder line
The feed point will be roughly 50-60'
The lowest point one of the legs might get would be 30'
My primary focus is 40 and above
I have a Dentron MT-2000A to tune it with
----

So what do you guys think? What suggestions might you have for me in terms of length, or anything really.

I am all ears :geek

ki4itv
10-26-2008, 10:37 AM
Another birthday and there you go getting all loopy on us... :mrgreen:
Happy Birthday OM.

We use 2 full 160M loops every year during field day (about 520, or so, feet of wire each) and I always enjoy using those antennas. We usually pull these up a little higher than most people could get them, stadium lighting can be very handy.
If you have no interest in 160 or 80, make one for 40m and you might get a more reasonable radiation pattern on the higher frequency bands. A little antenna modelling on this might give you insight as to what you could expect, we modelled our loops at a club meeting using various heights, on various bands and it was interesting to see the changes in radiation patterns, on 40, 20, 15, and 10.

A full wave on 80m is slightly shorter than your dipole, you could probably just attach the ends together on it and see what happens. You might like it, and it is almost already completed. If your feeding it with balanced line, the dfference in length may not be a significant problem.
Sounds like a happy accident waiting to happen.

Good luck and I;m interested in some of the answers to this as well.
Trey-

edit:whoops

N9FE
10-26-2008, 10:51 AM