PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice on netbook parts.

K2GSP
08-26-2016, 07:58 PM
I have an Asus Eee PC 1000HD Netbook. The hard drive appears to have finally died. It will not reformat when trying to reinstall Windows XP. My question is this. Can I put this hard drive on the Netbook?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822178255&ignorebbr=1

These are the specs for the netbook.

http://www.cnet.com/products/asus-eee-pc-1000hd-10-celeron-m-353-win-xp-home-1-gb-ram-120-gb-hdd-series/specs/

This is the HDD that is installed

Seagate Momentus 5400.4 120GB 5400RPM SATA 3Gbps 8MB Cache 2.5-inch Internal Hard Drive Mfr P/N 9DG132-285

Or does anyone have any alternative HDD that I could replace it with? Maybe an SSD of some kind.

I have not done anything with laptops of any kind. All my computers are desktops I have built. This is the only portable computer I have ever owned, so I have no experience with replacing parts.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Greg

K4PIH
08-26-2016, 09:18 PM
It is a netbook after all, Asus at that. Not trying to be a pain, but ask yourself if it's worth it? Might be better to replace itcwith a windows tablet.

K2GSP
08-27-2016, 07:07 AM
It is a netbook after all, Asus at that. Not trying to be a pain, but ask yourself if it's worth it? Might be better to replace itcwith a windows tablet.

I thought of that, but if I can throw a thirty five dollar hard drive in it and it works. I'm OK with that. It sits in the living room and I use it for looking up stupid stuff and it holds my movie collection database on it.

KB3LAZ
08-27-2016, 10:23 AM