PDA

View Full Version : Virtualization

n2ize
02-03-2015, 04:31 PM
Hi. I am interested in setting up at least one virtual machine on my Fedora 21 system. I mainly want to use it for testing and running other Linux distros i,e, Ubuntu, etc. as well as older/newer Fedora distro's on my system. I would preferably like to go 100% open source with respect to the virtualization software. I was doing some prelimanary reading and it seems there are quite a number of open source solutions available, some specific to Fedora and some more general Linux based solutions.

Since this is the first time I am doing this I wonder if others here can share their experiences with this. What did you use and how did it work out ? Is there any particular ystem(s) you would recommend or advise avoiding.

KC2UGV
02-03-2015, 07:17 PM
Virtualbox. Unless you need headless, in which case it's a pain, and I'd go with OpenVZ.

n2ize
02-03-2015, 07:35 PM
Since I am a beginner here explain what is meant by the term "headless" and I'll probably know right away if it's something I need or don;t need.

NQ6U
02-03-2015, 07:36 PM
Since I am a beginner here explain what is meant by the term "headless" and I'll probably know right away if it's something I need or don;t need.

Head•less adj Lacking a head.

KC2UGV
02-03-2015, 07:42 PM

If you need the VM to fire up with the machine, and not leave a window open the whole time.

n2ize
02-03-2015, 07:47 PM
If you need the VM to fire up with the machine, and not leave a window open the whole time.

Sounds like my situation as I anticipate it. However, it will take more reading and understanding on my part before I can say for sure. There is a bit of a learning curve and as I gain familiarity I will have a better handle on exactly what I need and don't need. This is a new venture for me. But I think it will be fun.

BTW thanks for the suggestions. I will look at the options you suggested.

NM5TF
02-04-2015, 11:10 AM