PDA

View Full Version : Tiny NVIS and DX antenna

KG4RQO
03-30-2014, 08:40 PM
I'm a newbie here. Definitely and antenna-student and not an antenna theory teacher. Has anyone ever seen, or better yet, used one like this?
http://www.hilomast.com/images/uploads/resources/NVIS_Loop_Antenna.pdf

KG4CGC
03-30-2014, 09:12 PM
That's a special vehicles antenna. What or where, are you mounting?
A length of wire is your best friend.

NQ6U
03-30-2014, 10:16 PM
I agree with the barkeep. That antenna is designed specifically for local mobile communications on HF which is pretty much opposite of what most of us hams want.

kb2vxa
03-31-2014, 12:54 AM
By "special vehicles" he means a radio truck at a military field command post. Previously radio communication was plagued by the skip zone between the direct wave and sky wave returning from the ionosphere where communications is skipped over, a dead zone. By using NVIS the skip zone is eliminated, picture a large umbrella over the truck, signal returning from the ionosphere over a wide area.

KG4RQO
03-31-2014, 06:42 AM
Thank you to all three for your responses. The probably site will be on a small part of a flat roof on top of a 5-story apartment building. The primary intent is for NVIS communication within Florida and possibly a bit of adjoining states in case of emergencies (we're overdue for an East Coast hurricane or two, to say nothing of the tornadoes that are already paying visits to this area.) While we can, in fact put out a pretty "long piece of wire", it would only be a few feet above the roof-top. We have to be very careful about "stealth" installation to keep the property owner happy.

N8YX
03-31-2014, 08:01 AM
That design looks similar to the old AEA 10-30 loop, which is a derivative of a DDRR (directional discontinuity ring radiator).