PDA

View Full Version : working qrp

AA8KT
03-13-2014, 04:58 AM
I am just getting into homebrew qrp, my question is how to cq in cw. should I call "de aa8kt/qrp aa8kt/qrp or just aa8kt/qrp aa8kt aa8kt or just call aa8kt ? Tnx fer advice

Peter AA8KT

N8YX
03-13-2014, 05:28 AM
Peter,

Welcome to the Island!

When I work low-power CW I usually send a 3x1 CQ and append my call with a /QRP.

Better to get a lot of short CQs out there with a call when running low power than one long one which may or may not be subject to fading or QRN.

Of course, YMMV. ;)

AA8KT
03-13-2014, 11:43 AM
TNX. I like that better than what I suggested.

W9JEF
03-13-2014, 11:43 AM

I usually check into the Razorback Net
(3987.5, nightly at 6:30 pm central time zone)
with the Icom IC-706 cranked down to 5 watts.

On CW, I seek out weaker CQs in hope of working QRP stations.
But I mostly run barefoot (100 watts) for any stateside QSO.

If you're QRP, best keep your transmissions short,
so the other station can continue to hold the frequency.

Some say, that life is too short for QRP...
but the problem may likely be too short an antenna. ;)

AA8KT
03-13-2014, 12:23 PM
To amend the question, for qrp operators out there. I am getting a 40meter Pixie tranceiver with a CW decoder and will be running a longwire. Is there anything else I need to get on the air??

K7SGJ
03-13-2014, 12:31 PM
To amend the question, for qrp operators out there. I am getting a 40meter Pixie tranceiver with a CW decoder and will be running a longwire. Is there anything else I need to get on the air??

I'm assuming you have a key etc. You may want to think about a dipole or OCFD for the antenna since you are only using 40 meters. And, since you will be in the cw portion, an antenna tuner won't be necessary, as long as you "prune" the antenna to the right length. That way, you will have a better chance to maximize you signal by matching the antenna to the rig.