PDA

View Full Version : End of a "Love-Hate" relationship

koØm
10-24-2013, 08:58 PM
"Ashes to Ashes, Dust to Dust"......If you can't talk it ain't my fault!

I am going to tell you about the end of a “Love-Hate” relationship; after inquiring about an old nemesis of mine, my friend told me that he had passed away almost a year ago. I felt a certain emptiness.

Let me start at the beginning, in 1977, I started working for my “Elmer”, W8ERG (sk) , he taught me everything there was to know about RF receiving and transmitting. Radio operators traveled 100’s of miles to patronize our shop. He build custom equipment, it was there that I was introduced to the 8877 tube.

By 1983, I built the first mobile amplifier using (6) 4CX250b tubes with the B+ supplied from a 3 Phase Alternator driven transformer. By 1985, I was a Superbowl Operator, the baddest one in town. I was so bad that my Elmer came to me and begged me not to key on / beat up on our customers because it was bad for business. ALL of the other operators wanted to be like me when they “Grew Up”.

Fast forward to 2002, I have long abandoned eleven meters but, my reputation was legion and it preceded me through the years, there wasn't anyone in town who could repair W8ERG’s amplifiers and, there were a lot of them out there. I get a phone call about a repair job and, I take care of it. This fellow has heard me / about me and wants to know if I can make him the local Superbowl King. I told him that if he had the money, I would put him on top of the world. And, I did; he was like E. F. Hutton, “When he spoke, people listened”, he had “Clear Channel Coverage” like Radio Station WLW. An eight element beam that was 40 foot in the air gave him an ERP of 200,000 watts in the forward direction.