PDA

View Full Version : Linux Laptops ?

WN9HJW
05-09-2013, 05:59 PM
Deleted

W4GPL
05-09-2013, 06:03 PM
It's becoming a serious problem. Now we have UEFI booting which gets tricky due to encryption keys...

I've been running Linux on my laptop for nearly 10 years and I'm seriously considering a Macbook. So at this point, I don't know what to tell you.

You gotta overcome the UEFI issues, presuming you can do that and get what you want, you'll be OK.

NQ6U
05-09-2013, 06:33 PM
FWIW, Ubuntu runs perfectly on my older MacBook Pro. I can even run many Windows apps under WINE, although a few do fail. For instance, I can run HRD but DM 780 crashes on launch.

W4GPL
05-09-2013, 06:34 PM
Yeah, your "older MacBook", get something with UEFI and and encryption key, best of luck.

KC2UGV
05-09-2013, 06:43 PM
Yeah, your "older MacBook", get something with UEFI and and encryption key, best of luck.

Most BIOS's allow you to disable UEFI.

W4GPL
05-09-2013, 06:45 PM
I've run across a lot of exceptions to that rule.

WØTKX
05-10-2013, 07:51 PM
Wow, what a bunch of ornery stuff. Making a PC or Laptop dual (or more) bootable should not be such a PITA.

KC2UGV
05-10-2013, 08:21 PM
I've run across a lot of exceptions to that rule.

I've not. Most every EUFI machine I've come across has the ability to turn on secure boot. In fact, MS requires vendors to ensure it can be disabled (Somehow, might not be trivial to do). But the option is there, somewhere.

But, even in the off chance you can't, then you can buy a copy (Gasp!) of RHEL 6 Desktop: https://www.redhat.com/apps/store/desktop/

RHEL bought into it, and got a signed key from MS.

n2ize
05-15-2013, 10:05 PM