PDA

View Full Version : WTB: AM2+ MOTHERBOARD



KG4CGC
04-08-2013, 04:35 PM
I am looking for an AM2+ motherboard for my computer. I need an AM2+ because I have the only AM3 chip that's actually an AM2+, the AMD PhenomII 940 Dragon. The problem is that if I go with a new chip, the only thing that matches or exceeds the performance will cost right around $180 to $200. That's more than a hot motherboard and 8 gigs of new ram.

If you have one that you're not using and want to sell, PM me and let's make deal.

KK4AMI
04-09-2013, 07:33 PM
I am looking for an AM2+ motherboard for my computer. I need an AM2+ because I have the only AM3 chip that's actually an AM2+, the AMD PhenomII 940 Dragon. The problem is that if I go with a new chip, the only thing that matches or exceeds the performance will cost right around $180 to $200. That's more than a hot motherboard and 8 gigs of new ram.

If you have one that you're not using and want to sell, PM me and let's make deal.

Umm Form factor? ATX or micro ATX!

KG4CGC
04-09-2013, 08:29 PM
I prefer ATX and something with 4 rows for ram and a PCI-E slot. What you got? Show me a picture. Will it take DDR2 PC8500 (1066) If it needs DDR3 that's OK too because my DDR2 strips are currently valuable (and they're pretty too.)

KK4AMI
04-09-2013, 09:07 PM
I prefer ATX and something with 4 rows for ram and a PCI-E slot. What you got? Show me a picture. Will it take DDR2 PC8500 (1066) If it needs DDR3 that's OK too because my DDR2 strips are currently valuable (and they're pretty too.)

I don't own anything that fancy. But I think we might have something in recycle stock at the place where I volunteer. I can't remember which AM2 AM2+ they might be. I'll check tomorrow

KG4CGC
04-09-2013, 09:45 PM
I don't own anything that fancy. But I think we might have something in recycle stock at the place where I volunteer. I can't remember which AM2 AM2+ they might be. I'll check tomorrow

OK. Thanks! Not really fancy. PCI-E is the most common video card slot and beats the pants off AGP. DDR3 is the new ram standard so people looking for DDR2 are having a hard time finding it.
But it must be AM2+. That's the only thing that will work on my CPU.

KK4AMI
04-09-2013, 10:32 PM
OK. Thanks! Not really fancy. PCI-E is the most common video card slot and beats the pants off AGP. DDR3 is the new ram standard so people looking for DDR2 are having a hard time finding it.
But it must be AM2+. That's the only thing that will work on my CPU.

Ha, my desktop toy is still an AMD Athlon XP +3200 with 1 Gb of DDR (PC3200)

KG4CGC
04-09-2013, 10:34 PM
Ha, my desktop toy is still an AMD Athlon XP +3200 with 1 Gb of DDR (PC3200)

As long as it does what you want, fine business. My MB succumb to a spot of corrosion and thus, I have to move forward.

NA4BH
04-09-2013, 10:37 PM
You said succumb. :rofl: :rofl:

KG4CGC
04-09-2013, 10:38 PM
You said succumb. :rofl: :rofl:

You said penis.

K6BSO
04-09-2013, 10:38 PM
You said succumb. :rofl: :rofl:

If at first you don't succumb...

K6BSO
04-09-2013, 10:39 PM
...die, die again.

NA4BH
04-09-2013, 10:39 PM
Too easy

K6BSO
04-09-2013, 10:50 PM
Too easy

Well, there's a variation on the Three Stooges version:


If at first you don't succumb keep on sucking 'til you do succumb.

Say that using "succeed" and you'll see that they really put on over on the censors of the day.

KK4AMI
04-10-2013, 01:06 PM
Sorry Charles,
No joy in Mudville. We have two HPs with MCP61PM-HM Rev 01 Motherboards. Those are AM2 only. We don't get too many AMD products unless it was a personal PC. Most of our donations are corporate and have Intel inside!

KG4CGC
04-10-2013, 01:29 PM
Sorry Charles,
No joy in Mudville. We have two HPs with MCP61PM-HM Rev 01 Motherboards. Those are AM2 only. We don't get too many AMD products unless it was a personal PC. Most of our donations are corporate and have Intel inside!
OK thanks. You tried. Looks like I'm going to go full-goose bozo at the end of the week. New CPU, MB, RAM. Maybe I can get $120 on my old RAM. 8gigs (4x2) DDR2 OCZ Gold Edition RAM.

KK4AMI
04-10-2013, 02:49 PM
OK thanks. You tried. Looks like I'm going to go full-goose bozo at the end of the week. New CPU, MB, RAM. Maybe I can get $120 on my old RAM. 8gigs (4x2) DDR2 OCZ Gold Edition RAM.

Have you tried Ebay?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/FOXCONN-A7DA-S-SOCKET-AM2-AMD-790GX-4x-DDR2-6x-SATAII-RADEON-HD3333-MOTHERBOARD-/251214893790?pt=Motherboards&hash=item3a7d9312de

KG4CGC
04-10-2013, 03:08 PM
I'm on epay right now. That Foxconn is a little older than what I need. Looked at the specs on their site. It does not support the PhenomII x4 although it is AM2+ and does support other Phenom chips.

AE1PT
04-10-2013, 10:45 PM
I'm on epay right now. That Foxconn is a little older than what I need. Looked at the specs on their site. It does not support the PhenomII x4 although it is AM2+ and does support other Phenom chips.

Yup. I thought that I could do the Phenom II with my Biostar board with it being an AM2+ but got stopped at a Phenom 9650 for that very reason. Have you looked at any of the AM2+ boards at Newegg?