PDA

View Full Version : Another 2 meters amp through the door..

VK3ZL
01-14-2013, 12:33 AM
I have just finished my latest 2 meter 1kw EME amplifier..Started it 3 weeks ago and finally tuned it up this morning...Runs 800 watts continuous carrier as long as you want to hold the key down and barely gets warm...It easily tunes up to 1400 watts output with 70 watts of drive...

This is my usual Kiss (keep it simple stupid) building method....Just like old cars you can get under the hood and move around..

Time has come for me to build a 6 and 2 meter amplifier for myself I think...Over the past few years I have had a lot of experience using the Russian Cold War era pulse triodes...I have yet to ever have a failure with these tubes...They are extremely rugged...I have purchased two of the Russian GI-46B triodes for these amplifiers...I haven't used the 46B tubes to date due to the lack of data...However many hams are now using them as replacement tubes in TL922 and other 3-500Z amplifiers with good success...However I am sceptical with their cooling methods. I have a far better cooling method than anything I have seen in the various uTube videos on these conversions..

Anyhow I will start on a 6 meter version in the next week or so..It will be interesting to see the outcome although I am very confident it will make a nice 800 watt output amplifier.. We only have a 400 watt power limit on 6 and 2 meters in VK unless you apply for a high power EME permit which is policed fairly strictly..

Enjoy the couple of pics of the 2 meter amplifier..The paintwork on the front panel is Metallic Blue and looks quite nice..I put in a pic of a GI-46B..They have a beautiful removable cooler...I have used GI-46B coolers in a 2 x GI-7B HF amp I built for myself a few years ago..

Bob..VK3ZL..

NQ6U
01-14-2013, 09:55 AM