PDA

View Full Version : He needs to leave. Now.

Pages : [1] 2

Dr. Detroit
12-01-2012, 10:50 PM
The following letter-to-the-editor was published in the Nov. 21, 2012 edition of Radio World magazine (the largest U.S. publication for broadcast engineers), and signed "Burt Fisher K1OIK, Chief Engineer, WCCT(FM), Sandwich, Mass." Please read the letter, then see my comments that follow.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Hams Doing Public Service? Please.

The following is in response to Radio World coverage of the Hamvention (“Amateur Event Continues to Pack ’Em In,” Aug. 1) and Dan Thomas’s enthusiastic letter to the editor (“Kahn Helped Young Engineers,” Sept. 26).

I am an extra class ham operator with 52 years on the air. While a very small percentage of hams are like what Dan says, the vast majority do nothing for public service or little to advance the state of the art.

The day of hams being an asset has long ago disappeared except for some rare instances. Hams are appliance operators and sit in their shacks and cackle endlessly about minutia. They run “contests” where they lie about signal reports and pass useless data.

The tests are laughable: My daughter passed her exam for the “Tech Plus” when she was eight years old, so how hard could it be? All the questions and answers are published.

The only skill that was required was Morse Code, and that has been eliminated.

Add to this they put up antennas that blight the neighborhood in the name of something they rarely do — public service. This “right of blight” is protected by the FCC (PRB-1 decision).

As a teacher, I could not even give away thousands of dollars of donated ham equipment because I merely required the students to use it on the air for 100 contacts or more.

If you doubt me, listen on the air, and if you can stand it for more than 30 minutes and are not dead asleep, you are a better person than most.

Burt Fisher K1OIK
Chief Engineer
WCCT(FM)
Sandwich, Mass.