PDA

View Full Version : ARRL changed requirements for Em-Comm Field Instructors and Mentors

NE1LL
11-21-2012, 09:13 AM
From the ARRL ARES E-Newsletter the ARRL has increased the requirements for Field Instructors and on-line mentors. Changes include Skywarn training, student rosters and student evaluations. Terms of appointment will be three years.

A couple of points of interest:

These are the highest requirements for appointment of all ARRL positions. Section Emergency Coordinators, District Emergency Coordinators and Emergency Coordinators pale in comparison. Even section managers only need a license and full members [license].
The ARRL violates "unity of command' in the class administration. As an instructor I can't teach the class and bring in a PIO or person who is not an approved instructor or mentor. While the course tells participants to seek out people who have worked a major event among others. Course says one thing ARRL another.
The three year appointment period. Have to wait to see how this pans out. I'm curious as to the renewal requirement[s].
The link for these new requirements is www.arrl.org/requirements-for-field-instructors (http://www.arrl.org/requirements-for-field-instructors)
The ARRL can remove any instructor or mentor for no reason "ARRL reserves the right, in its sole discretion, to terminate this relationship at any time, with or without any reason or cause."

If only they held the standards for all appointments. I know of one section where appointments are made strictly on who sucks up the most. I mean when someone takes the General test over 20 times and can't pass you have to wonder who would put them in any kind of ARES position?

W3WN
11-21-2012, 11:34 AM
< snip >I mean when someone takes the General test over 20 times and can't pass you have to wonder who would put them in any kind of ARES position?And with that comment, you blew your whole argument.

WØTKX
11-21-2012, 12:18 PM
Yea, that looks like an undefined mess. As usual.