PDA

View Full Version : Small Antenna Book

KC2UGV
10-14-2012, 11:20 AM
So, I got my ARRL subscribe offer in the mail on Friday, with the gift being the small antenna book. Is this book worth jumping on, or should I wait for another offer here? Looking to finally get my ARRL membership, but figured I shouldn't squander what they offer for free :)

NQ6U
10-14-2012, 11:23 AM
I dunno—does the book cover fractal antennas?

NY3V
10-14-2012, 12:18 PM
How small is the book? Less than 50 pages? ;)

K7SGJ
10-14-2012, 01:50 PM
Smaller than 2"x3"

ab1ga
10-14-2012, 02:03 PM
If the full title is "Small Antennas for Small Spaces", then I guess I'd hold out for a better deal.

I have been disappointed in the technical content of the newer ARRL titles, at at a member price of about $23 for 128 pages this item seems to fit that mold. For about $10 more, one of the RSGB titles like "Backyard Antennas" delivers a lot more, but the League won't offer that as a membership incentive.

Unfortunately, unless they really break down and offer you the real Antenna Book or ON4UN's Low Band DXing, the pickings are slim, although I did like "Simple and Fun Antennas for the Radio Amateur".

n2ize
10-14-2012, 02:06 PM
I have a book called "The Practical Antenna Handbook" published by McGraw Hill. It is a pretty good book, it delves into a wide range of antenna designs from simple doublets, to limited space antennas, to complex beams and arrays. My addition is a couple decades old but, antenna theory hasn't changed all that much.

ab1ga
10-14-2012, 02:12 PM
The League offers that title for sale as well, but because it's not an ARRL title I doubt it will be part of a membership offer. It's not that the League books are awful, it's just that the price point is terrible for somebody trying to learn something. Basic Electronics, Basic Radio and Basic Antennas would be a great starter set for the new ham, but at $25 a copy, it's just too much to ask.

NQ6U
10-14-2012, 02:14 PM