so here is a total newb question....:roll:

how did the Island come to be & when???

was it started as an "alternative" to that "other" site by some banned
ex-zedders???:shock:

if this question has already been asked/answered & is in the archives,
a pointer/link would be nice....:pray:

TIA

History of Ham Island, part 1

The Island was started because one of QRZ.com staff tried to tell everyone how hard it is to create a forum. To prove them wrong, I created the Island of Misfit Hams, named so because my kids were watching Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer on TV at the moment and the scene for the Island of Misfit Toys was on the screen. The name was never meant to imply the status of the membership.

It took me 20 minutes to make the forum, and I posted the link to show how easy it was. Pretty soon folks started to post there and what was supposed to be a temporary thing to show how easy it was turned into a full blown site that continues to grow with each passing day.

Mike, AL2N

N2NH
09-20-2012, 03:56 PM
The original group for banned Zedders was BBQ (Banned By QRZ) which was a Yahoo group I started when I was banned. It was advice given to me by one of the moderators there (who is no longer a mod on QRZ for other reasons). It was originally open only to those who were banned at one time or another. Albi (MIV-SK) asked me why it wasn't open to all, so I made that possible. One of our group Mike AL2N wisely decided to explore other options since the group wasn't as conducive to posting as QRZ was and thus The Island was born. He too was following the advice of this moderator who had a habit of telling everyone if you don't like it here go start your own site...

N1LAF
09-20-2012, 04:09 PM
There is a stark difference in moderation style and accountability that separates the island from the Zed.

K7SGJ
09-20-2012, 04:26 PM
The vision came from here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6TlNOwwQQJk

You don't know how glad I am to see that bastid.

WØTKX