PDA

View Full Version : My time to decide between a Canon vs Nikon grows short

K7SGJ
07-08-2012, 09:39 AM
I want to replace my Canon Rebel, and I need to do it before my wife closes the business at the end of the year. In the past, I always tended to lean towards Pentax, at least in the days of film. I never had a problem with any of them. Right now, I also have several PS Canon Elphs that I like for quickie shots of the dogs or the wildlife that shows up unannounced around here. I had a Canon AE-1 when it came on the market, and it was nice, too. It had many nice features. But with the advent of digital, and digital DSLR, I have used nothing but Canon. But now, I am looking pretty hard at the Nikon D7000, but I don't know of anyone that has any knowledge of it, other than internet feedback and hype from people I don't know. Then, there is the Canon 5D. Again, I know of no one with hands on experience.

While I am not a professional photographer, I enjoy doing creative things, and it's nice to have the tools that will do whatever I want to do, and both of the above seem to be comparable in features. Accessories abound for both, and there are a slop[jar full of after market goodies for both. I will keep the rebel in the truck all the time, except in 120 degree weather, for those unexpected photo ops, but for hard core setups and deliberate captures during trips or other excursions, I would like the enhanced capabilities of one of the newer cameras.

Do any of you have any first hand knowledge of either, had any hands on, or have any insight? Or maybe there is something else out there I should look at.
Thanks

click click

KG4CGC
07-08-2012, 09:53 AM