View Full Version : Packet Radio

N8YX
05-17-2012, 09:58 AM
I'm pretty sure Luke and Corey use it.

Who else does at the moment?

Which frequencies do you use the most?

KC2UGV
05-17-2012, 10:00 AM
I do (well, not right now, my station is packed up), but usually 145.010, 030, and 050; then 2.4GHz band (All over).

KC9ECI
05-17-2012, 11:51 AM
No real packet activity around here short of the DX cluster via RF and a fair bit of APRS.

kb2vxa
05-17-2012, 01:58 PM
I started in 1996 when I bought a computer and TNC from a ham in Hillside, NJ and for a time I was a remote sysop for the CNJ BBS/node in Lakehurst. I watched the decline, now without antennas I use a Telnet link to a BBS in Australia. Overall it's pretty much on its last legs especially in the US but you'll see me @WW when there's something of interest to reply to. Well, at least there is a little ham left in me...

KJ3N
05-17-2012, 02:13 PM
I haven't done any serious packet work in over a decade. I used to do quite a bit of it on 10m in the 90s. In fact, I once had a 2 hour QSO with a guy from France. The only thing that ended it was propagation fell out.

KC9ECI
05-17-2012, 10:25 PM
I'm kind of jazzed up to do some packet-lite this weekend. The 2012 Brute Challenge http://www.spreetouring.com/ is Saturday and the Winona club has launched a massive APRS effort to support this event. I was contacted a few weeks ago and invited to assist. I'm pulling the camper over Friday night and getting some stuff set up and then overnighting on my own, just me and case of my closest friends. Could be dangerous though, I worked in Arcadia for almost a decade at Ashley Furniture in the 90's and I've been thrown out of every bar in town at one point or another. Saturday morning I'm getting up ahead of the sun and hiking up to a ridge top to place a portable digipeater and then back to the camper where I will spend the day doing net control.

N2RJ
05-19-2012, 10:51 PM