PDA

View Full Version : Instant Coffee

n2ize
02-01-2012, 04:30 PM
I remember when i was a kid back in the 1950's and early 60's the big thing was "instant coffee". Maxwell House, Sanka, Chock Full O Nuts. It came in glass jars that had a vacuum seal under the screw on lid. Maxwell House was the big one that everyone seemed to use. My parents used it all the time. They only used the percolator on special occasions, usually when we had guests. Everyone liked it because all you needed was a cup of hot water and a measuring spoon.

Nowadays it's rare I see instant coffee much. Everyone has gone back to brewing.

KG4CGC
02-01-2012, 04:34 PM
Never put instant coffee in the microwave.

KB3LAZ
02-01-2012, 04:42 PM
Ew, dirty sock water.

K7SGJ
02-01-2012, 06:19 PM
I've been using a Keurig for many years and I have some refillable kcup baskets for it. The prefilled are too damn expensive, so I grind my own coffee and can do fresh a cup at a time. A freash hot cup is always ready to be made, and this way I don't waste a half a pot, or have a pot go bitter before I get to it. In the evening, I'll just throw some instant decaf in a cup and get the hot water from the Keurig. It's really not too bad for a quick cup.

KB3LAZ
02-01-2012, 06:24 PM
I've been using a Keurig for many years and I have some refillable kcup baskets for it. The prefilled are too damn expensive, so I grind my own coffee and can do fresh a cup at a time. A freash hot cup is always ready to be made, and this way I don't waste a half a pot, or have a pot go bitter before I get to it. In the evening, I'll just throw some instant decaf in a cup and get the hot water from the Keurig. It's really not too bad for a quick cup.

I use Nespresso, same concept. Stronger rich coffee per cup. Love it.

KC9ECI
02-01-2012, 06:47 PM
Vile stuff. That said, I keep a jar hidden somewhere at work for emergency use. That's in the event that the can of grounds I have hidden for emergencies runs out.

kf0rt
02-01-2012, 09:29 PM