PDA

View Full Version : Replacing a CPU Fan

n2ize
01-07-2012, 03:05 PM
The CPU fan in my parents laptop has finally bitten the dust. because I studied Math in college I know everything there is to know about any and all computers in the universe, past, present, and future, so i have been elected to be the one to replace the fan.

Now I decided to look into the service manual to find out what is involved in replacing the tiny little fan. First and foremost, it is sold as a unit complete with heat sink. Second, to replace it you need to access the topside (keyboard/mouse) side of the system board. What is basically involved is, to replace this cheap little fan you have to disassemble the entire computer. All hard drives, optical drives, modems, network controllers, and boards must be removed. The keyboard and the display must be removed. You basically have to strip the entire computer just to replace the fan. Crazy shit, just to replace a Gawd darned fan &^**((*^%)!!!

It's a Dell Inspiron B130 laptop. Has anyone ever replaced a cup fan/cooler in one of these ? Does anyone know an easier way than taking the whole friggin thang apart ? Perhaps there is a differential equation or some surface integral over a 3 dimensional surface that could be determined to make the job easy. But somehow I don't think so.... Therefore, if anyone knows any simple tricks or any way to make this easier. I am wondering if there may be a way to remove the fan from the cooling unit and just replace the fan.

Any suggestions welcome before I end up embarking on this nuisance job.

K7SGJ
01-07-2012, 04:41 PM
Maybe she can help.................

NQ6U
01-07-2012, 04:59 PM

Nice...saw.

KG4CGC
01-07-2012, 05:32 PM
There is no easy way. You must be meticulous and careful. Wear magnifiers if you must.

KJ3N
01-07-2012, 05:32 PM

http://forums.hamisland.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=5130

She can pull-start me anytime. :rofl:

kf0rt
01-07-2012, 05:41 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhJXflQP2pY