PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 10.something

W5GA
12-15-2011, 10:10 AM
I just started playing with this, and am trying to get Seti@home up and running. I used the installer that Ubuntu has in it, but now I can't see that it installed anything in spite of what the history shows. How do I find things like this? Incidentally, I'm a complete novice in Linux.

NQ6U
12-15-2011, 10:20 AM
Try clicking on the Ubuntu logo in the very upper left hand corner. A menu will drop down and you should see it there. If it's not immediately visible, try one of the sub-menus; they have little sideways triangles to the right of them.

I like Ubuntu a lot but I think that what you describe is a weakness of the UI design. I've had the same problem after installing software.

ad4mg
12-15-2011, 10:24 AM
I just started playing with this, and am trying to get Seti@home up and running. I used the installer that Ubuntu has in it, but now I can't see that it installed anything in spite of what the history shows. How do I find things like this? Incidentally, I'm a complete novice in Linux.
I never had a look at this myself, Doug, but there is a very informative discussion in the Ubuntu forums:
Ubuntu: How to Set Up BOINC / SETI@Home with CUDA (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1131430)

W4GPL
12-15-2011, 12:22 PM
^ The above instructions assume you're running an Nvidia video card.

W1GUH
12-15-2011, 12:45 PM
Try clicking on the Ubuntu logo in the very upper left hand corner. A menu will drop down and you should see it there. If it's not immediately visible, try one of the sub-menus; they have little sideways triangles to the right of them.

I like Ubuntu a lot but I think that what you describe is a weakness of the UI design. I've had the same problem after installing software.

GMTA! Have the same impression, but there's a lot of saving grace.