PDA

View Full Version : SERG Convention 2011..

VK3ZL
06-11-2011, 02:08 AM
G'day all...Well another year gone by and my SERG Convention is on tomorrow Sunday 12th...South East Radio Group....This is an annual event in Mount Gambier about 60 miles West from my place over the border in VK5...

I have been participating in the Home Brew Competition for many years and won most first prizes with my work for many years...My expertise has been building HF RF amplifiers and I sorta have gained a bit of experience...

This year I decided to move away from HF and tackle a bit of VHF for something different and new...Well, I have found it to be a completely new experience...I was asked to build a 6 meter amplifier 8 months ago and went ahead with great success...Word got around and I now have regular requests for more 6 meter units building five since....Along the way I was asked if I could put a 400 watt 2 meter amplifier together specifically for WSJT EME work...I put the thinking cap on and designed what I considered a practical amplifier around a Russian GS-31B triode which has 1Kw anode dissipation....This amplifier has been in continual use for some months now and performs excellently regularly handling 90 minute sessions of EME Data transmissions.

Pleased with all this I designed a Mk2 version of the 2 meter amplifier then decided to look at 70cm...I completed the 70cm amplifier recently having the same criteria as the 2 meter units, 400 watts WSJT...I am very pleased and impressed with the outcome..

Tomorrow I have three new amplifiers to present at SERG, 6 meters, 2 meters and 70cm..As this is new territory for me I am interested how these will be received..I will post pictures of these latest projects along with the convention H/B results sometime next week...Wish me luck..:yes:

Bob..VK3ZL..

ad4mg
06-11-2011, 05:00 AM
Good luck, Bob! It's wonderful that you share your gift with so many people. I'm sure that your newest endeavors will be very well received!

N8YX