PDA

View Full Version : New Ham - Same old Question

KK4AMI
03-31-2011, 04:24 PM
I am new to Ham Radio. I just got my licenses (Tech and General) in Feb. I had intended to fix an old Cubic RT-1131 Radio, but my skills suggest I might want to get another radio in the mean time. I don't think I am interested in 2m, 70cm, etc.. I'd like to go with HF and maybe 6 meter (AM/SSB/CW). Can anybody recommend a reliable used 100w desktop/portable that is cheap and resellable? My wife said I have to sell off some hobbies before starting new ones. I'm looking at selling my trap gun to buy the radio. :chin:

ki4itv
03-31-2011, 04:29 PM
I really like my ricebox, Yaesu FT-897D.
If I had to choose one cheap radio to do about anything, that'd be it...and it was.
They're cheapish, and can do a little of everything.

NQ6U
03-31-2011, 04:36 PM
Icom IC-7800. Fine beginners radio. Hook it up to a SteppIR DB36 antenna and you've a good starting point.

Seriously, the Icom IC-718 and Yaesu FT-450 would be good radios to look at. They're both very basic, but reliable and not too expensive.

KK4AMI
03-31-2011, 04:48 PM
Icom IC-7800. Fine beginners radio. Hook it up to a SteppIR DB36 antenna and you've a good starting point.

Seriously, the Icom IC-718 and Yaesu FT-450 would be good radios to look at. They're both very basic, but reliable and not too expensive.

The 7800 huh, that runs about $100 per word spoken over it? Icom IC-718 sounds great. I have an R-71A so I guess I'm partial to Icom.

W5GA
03-31-2011, 04:48 PM
I'd vote for an IC-761, or if you can swing it an IC-765. Neither has 6m, but both will do you really, really well on HF.

NQ6U
03-31-2011, 04:49 PM
The 7800 huh, that runs about $100 per word spoken over it? Icom IC-718 sounds great. I have an R-71A so I guess I'm partial to Icom.

Hey, they're only around $15K. Should be pocket change for a guy like you... ;)

KK4AMI
03-31-2011, 04:51 PM
I really like my ricebox, Yaesu FT-897D.