PDA

View Full Version : I'm A Coach !!

n2ize
02-05-2011, 06:59 PM
Well, not exactly. This spring, on 2 consecutive Saturday's) I'll be coaching a group of youngsters in building and flying a model airplane. The goal ? Everyone will build a plane, get it up into the air and keep it up there flying. This will teach kids, construction techniques, the basics of aerodynamics and flight... We'll start with basic simple free flight gliders and, if time allows, a hands on demonstration with one or more powered models...perhaps a 1/2A gas control line and electric RC. I may even bring in a helicopter or two to demonstrate the similarities and differenced between fixed and rotary wing aircraft, as well as the distinctions in controlling a fixed wing aircraft and a rotary wing.

We did these sessions in the past and they were always successful. Even some parents got involved and learned. In todays cyber-world its always nice for young people to learn something thats real, hands on and not just an image on a screen... although we might demostrate a flight sim or two... :-D

NQ6U
02-05-2011, 07:07 PM
Sounds great, John. Bring along your HT and see if you can get a couple of the little bastids interested in ham radio, too!

W3MIV
02-05-2011, 07:23 PM
Mazel tov! Ur a bettah man than I am, Gunga Din. Volunteer work with youngsters is a big score.

N9FE
02-05-2011, 10:07 PM
There is a club that flys indoors here in the winter. One guy is a amatuer and wants me to come enjoy the fun. Its at the local high school gym. I'm going to go give a try. Don't have a plane, But could look into that..

KA5PIU
02-06-2011, 03:24 AM
Hello.

I like to play on 160 AM.
There are now hundreds of people who like to listen to myself and others on the older AM radios.
The old "police" band sits right in the middle of 160.