PDA

View Full Version : How Did You learn the Code ??

n2ize
12-02-2010, 06:48 PM
I learned the code at an early age by sending. At a rather young age I could tap out code very fast, but I couldn't copy code to save my life. Often while listening to people talking I would tap out what they were saying in code.

It wasn;t until I was an adult...In my 20's, that I FINALLY learned to copy code. I'm still not the greatest at copy, although I have been good at times up to 15-20 wpm. But my sending has been excellent. When i first got on the air many of the old timers (some ex-navy ship radio operators) all remarked that I had a very good fist. Of course when they would start talking to each other in supersonic code speeds I was lost. :-D

KG4CGC
12-02-2010, 06:53 PM
I learned code 3 times, never tested on it, forgot it everytime.
How? I wrote it out on paper and emails. I see characters. If I was a musician, it would have been a no brainer but I never trained my hearing like that.
Had people tell me you can't learn it that way. I did. You can forget just as easily what ever manner you learn.
I'm visual. What's your excuse?
Hello,

NQ6U
12-02-2010, 07:18 PM
I haven't yet--I'm a no-code general. I want to learn, though, because watching a friend with a novice ticket working a CW QSO back in 1967 or so was what got me interested in ham radio in the first place. Code is cool.

kf0rt
12-02-2010, 07:30 PM
I learned it at age 13 to pass the novice test (5 WPM in 1969). Instructor was a guy named Darrel who worked at a TV repair shop -- he smoked like a house afire and had a Swan Cygnet set up at the shop. Could almost swear that his callsign was WØMGQ, but I've got callbooks for 1969 and 1974 and that call isn't listed in either.