PDA

View Full Version : Facebook Friends...

W3MIV
11-26-2010, 04:13 PM
I am new to the Facebook scene. I am still trying to figure many things out. One of those things is how the FB system tracks me and puts me together with recommendations they sometimes seem to pull out of their cyber-ass.

Some few I know. Some more are friends of friends I know. A bunch are kids of friends of mine, and friends of the kids -- none of whom do I know. I only know the little I know by having done a minimal amount of research into the FB pages of these "someones" I may allegedly know. Weird. Many, furthermore, are folks I have never heard of and don't seem to have any link with me, however remote, and they are distributed over a very wide range of the country.

Today, I noticed a "someone you may know" listing for Fred Lloyd.

If ever there were an illustration of how easily the gummint might run us down one by desperate one and pin us to cards like an eight year-old's collection of beetles, this FB thing is kind of interesting. On the one hand, it shows the positive power of the internet; on the other, however, it can definitely be creepy.

My FB jury is still sequestered.

WØTKX
11-26-2010, 04:20 PM
I'm there, because of family and friends pestering me. But I stay pretty inactive.

I let my Farm-Ville plot go to rot... I got a lot of spam from that.

W4GPL
11-26-2010, 05:15 PM
:lol: The friend suggestions often freak me out too. It's important to remember that the Fred Lloyd suggestion could have just as easily been presented from his address book/buddy lists. If you've ever communicated with him and he allowed Facebook to access his info, that's almost certainly where such a suggestion could have come from. The other unknowns are likely just friends of friends or people who have like minded interests that you presented to FB.

N2CHX
11-26-2010, 05:19 PM
I don't even pay attention to the friend suggestions.

W2NAP
11-26-2010, 05:32 PM