PDA

View Full Version : Should I or Shouldn't I?

NQ6U
10-16-2010, 05:30 PM
I hope to test for my Extra Class upgrade in a few weeks and I'm trying to decide whether I should keep my current call sign or take the chance to get a 2x2 call without having to pay a fee. On one hand, my current call is kind of fun to send in Morse. On the other hand, I've only had it a little over a year so I'm not overly attached to it, the "KJ" prefix shows that I'm a relative newbie and my CW skills suck anyway.

Anyone care to comment?

ki4itv
10-16-2010, 05:44 PM
Do you like your current call?
Is it easy for you to ramble off in a pile-up?
Do other operators find it memorable and easily identify it with someone they have had a QSO with before?
If the answer to two of those questions is Yes, then there might really be some reason to keep it. If not, go for the 2x2. Then, if you get one that suffers similar identification, rhythm, or pronunciation problems, it might be time to consider going vanity because you have nothing to lose.:yes:

As an aside, I've always found "juliet" to be difficult for me unless it falls rhythmically and naturally while rambling off the other ops phonetics. That may just be me though.:chin:

N8YX
10-16-2010, 06:08 PM
I kept my old 2x3 for a number of years after I upgraded - both to Advanced then to Extra. Didn't matter much as I worked a lot of keyboard modes back then.

CW and 'phone is a different matter entirely - especially if you do any contesting. My current call isn't as short as some 1x2s but it's a darn sight better than what I had.

It's all in what you want from the hobby. Go with that which works for your situation.

KJ3N
10-16-2010, 06:36 PM
Anyone care to comment?

You're glutton for punishment...... :neener: :lol:

..... the "KJ" prefix shows that I'm a relative newbie and my CW skills suck anyway.

WTF does that have to do with anything? I'm a fscking Extra and I don't have any CW skills. Don't want them, either. :hand: