PDA

View Full Version : I Left in Disbelief !!

n2ize
09-07-2010, 03:28 PM
A co-worker/friend of mine has began telling me three years ago that he is teaching his wife how to play the drums and, how she seems to have a natural talent for drumming. For the past year and a half he has been bragging to everyone about how good she plays and how she has far surpassed his percussion skills.

Well, I finally got to hear the little lady play. Now, I'm not an expert on drumming, but, as a general music listener, and as an avid jazz listener, i have an ear for skilled drumming.

Well, she was at first a bit embarrassed to play for a small audience and, frankly I don;t blame her. hate to say it but...she is pretty bad. Her timing is way off, she can't seem to hold a basic rhythm for very long and she seems weak in the most basic drum rudiments. Of course I was polite and I didn't voice me actually feelings about her playing but, the end result...she needs a good drum instructor and a lot of practice. And, if he was her teacher and she has , according to him, surpassed even his skills, well, it doesn't bode well for his skills or teaching ability. What she really needs, is a real drumming teacher who can help her to develop a sense of timing and rhythm and also make her fluent in the basic rudiments of drumming.

The thing that puzzles me, what drives people to believe that a familiy member is talented at something when in reality they are not. reminds me of these guys who would tel me that their kids are baseball or football stars. But when i would watch them play it was immediately obvious they are not.

Am I being too critical or, has anyone else experienced this with people bragging about talent where it simply does not exist ?

In any event I hope she finds herself a real teacher who can teach her to play the drums right.

NQ6U
09-07-2010, 03:31 PM
Just tell her the six little words aspiring musicians love to hear:

"Don't give up your day job!"

n2ize