PDA

View Full Version : Storms Knock Down WWVA Towers

W3WN
08-05-2010, 08:18 PM
They lost all three towers Wednesday (8/4) afternoon around 4 PM EDT

http://www.wwva.com/cc-common/mainheadlines2.html?feed=119921&article=7439986

Direct link to the picture gallery at http://www.wwva.com/cc-common/gallery/display.html?album_id=244870

NQ6U
08-05-2010, 08:24 PM
They carry Glen Beck! It must be God's wrath!

W4GPL
08-05-2010, 08:29 PM
That's just nuts. Any word as to how strong the winds were? I don't recall anything like this happening even during Hurricane Charlie 5 or 6 years ago.

W3WN
08-05-2010, 08:42 PM
Someone down there should know. If I find out, I'll let you know.

BTW, I should credit my source... Frank Bobro N3FB, CE of WPXI-TV channel 11.

(and no, the club's repeater is not on their tower, a different club beat us to it years ago)

K7SGJ
08-05-2010, 08:46 PM
Being an ex-broadcast engineer, I really feel for their technical staff. I have had to do creative stuff to get a temp signal on the air, but nothing like that.

W4GPL
08-05-2010, 08:51 PM
Do you happen to know if the towers were free standing or did they have guy wires? I've just never seen anything like that before.. especially when referencing a "severe thunderstorm". A direct hit by a tornado, I could see, but straight winds caused by a non-tornadic (is that even a word?) event? That's pretty uncommon, as far as my personal experience goes.

And yeah, I'm presuming there wasn't a tornado, but I guess they're not mutually exclusive. Just when there's a tornado, they usually say so rather than saying severe thunderstorm.

K7SGJ
08-05-2010, 09:08 PM
I have never seen the towers in person, but from the first link you can go to a shot of all three standing. They are shaped like self supporters and I didn't see any guys. Of course that doesn't mean they're not there.

W4GPL
08-05-2010, 09:15 PM
Nutty. Mother Nature, what a bitch.

W5RB
08-05-2010, 09:20 PM