PDA

View Full Version : Video baby monitors useful for ATV?

KC2SYK
07-21-2010, 06:29 PM
Hello, all. I was thinking about getting a video baby monitor, which are used under Part 15 (unlicensed low power) here in the US. I was hoping that there are models that use NTSC modulation on the ham ATV frequencies, and that after the baby is grown, I could modify it to be a ham ATV transmitter/receiver pair.

There seem to be several models that use the 2.4GHz band, but I need to do more research on the modulation and frequencies used.

Has anyone done this or given it a try before? Are there any models that are known to be easily modded or already use the appropriate modulation and frequencies?

Any general advise about this? I've not done anything with ATV yet, so this question is asked as a total newbie. Thanks.

Thanks and 73.
-Chris KC2SYK

ad4mg
07-21-2010, 06:40 PM
My baby rearing days are long behind me, Chris, but welcome to the Island! Our regional experts, who actually answer questions, should be along shortly. Charles is our bartender, and he's the best! Have fun!

KC2UGV
07-21-2010, 07:00 PM
At least once it has been done (Albeit inadvertently):
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-462184/Baby-monitors-world-transmission-space-shuttle-Atlantis.html

KG4CGC
07-21-2010, 07:05 PM
Welcome to The Island! We have cookies!
I am your barkeep. Please pull up a deck chair at the bar located at the end of the the pier and grab a pole, the mahi are always biting.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c79/bebop5/5_mixed_drinks.jpg

We have those damned umbrella drinks!

WØTKX
07-21-2010, 07:08 PM
Almost any camera that does NTSC works, and a cheapo (free) TV can be the RX. http://www.hamtv.com/

It would be fun to try... there's very little activity here, except occasional portable demos.

There is an ATV repeater system in NJ, maybe it in range for you? http://www.qsl.net/kd2bd/atv.html

KC2SYK
07-21-2010, 07:32 PM