PDA

View Full Version : Okay so I need some help



KB3LAZ
06-02-2010, 11:44 AM
I have a dedicated server that I bought to setup as a game server. I have the databases installed and working just fine and people can connect however I have to make their accounts manually. To get around this I need to make apache webserver 2 and PHP 5 run properly side by side on windows server 2003 and I cant get this to work correctly. From my understanding doing so will make it so that when they sign up on my forums a script will communicate with my game databases and register their account.

So basically what I need to know how to do is to get Apache2 and PHP5 to run side by side..can anyone help me with this?

KC2UGV
06-02-2010, 11:50 AM
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/windows.html

http://php.net/manual/en/install.windows.php

It should be pretty straight forward, since both have windows installers now.

You can also do this (Not recommended really): http://www.wampserver.com/en/

What forum are you using, and how are they connecting now? (ie through a game client)

KB3LAZ
06-02-2010, 12:02 PM
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/windows.html

http://php.net/manual/en/install.windows.php

It should be pretty straight forward, since both have windows installers now.

You can also do this (Not recommended really): http://www.wampserver.com/en/

What forum are you using, and how are they connecting now? (ie through a game client)

They are communicating with me trough a freewebs account lol.

Yes they are connecting through a game server which brings me to another issue. I cant get a downloader to work because my files wont compress because of their size. So what I have them doing is running of a client from another version of the game, downloading my exe and data files. They then have to patch the IP with a hex editor. The problem with that is that some people want to play but cant figure out how to do what I am asking of them to connect.

Im in over my head here but IDC I wont give up.

KB3LAZ
06-02-2010, 12:03 PM
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/windows.html

http://php.net/manual/en/install.windows.php

It should be pretty straight forward, since both have windows installers now.

You can also do this (Not recommended really): http://www.wampserver.com/en/

What forum are you using, and how are they connecting now? (ie through a game client)

Oh and I tried using guides to install correctly but I am running into issues with the programs working correctly.

KB3LAZ
06-02-2010, 12:09 PM
However I will also have RCL look at this when he gets here and maybe he can use the links and get this going. If not I will have to wait but I have someone to talk to in person this weekend. :) What irritates me is that I cant figure it out myself...lol. It makes me feel incompetent.

KC2UGV
06-02-2010, 12:27 PM
Oh and I tried using guides to install correctly but I am running into issues with the programs working correctly.

Can Apache serve up pages?

If so, can you create the phpinfo file, and retrieve that page?

If no, you might have to tell Apache to use the PHP module still.

KB3LAZ
06-02-2010, 01:15 PM
Is there a package like wamp that will work with MSSQL rather than MySQL?

KC2UGV
06-02-2010, 01:18 PM
Is there a package like wamp that will work with MSSQL rather than MySQL?

Not that I know of. Why not use MySQL? Does the game server require MSSQL?

KB3LAZ
06-02-2010, 01:18 PM
Not that I know of. Why not use MySQL? Does the game server require MSSQL?

Yes

KC2UGV
06-02-2010, 01:22 PM
Well, I guess it's back to figuring out where in the setup Apache + PHP broke.

KB3LAZ
06-02-2010, 01:25 PM
Well, I guess it's back to figuring out where in the setup Apache + PHP broke.

Yeah, Im having RCL log in beings he knows a lot more about this than I do. Maybe he will be able to figure out what is wrong from your posts or be able to ask the right questions.

kb3rcl
06-02-2010, 01:46 PM
I just wanted to post in a bit more detail what we are trying to accomplish. We are trying to jump in head first, which is prolly just as much of a bad idea as well as good. Anyway, I have a bit of experience in what we are trying to do, but apparently not as much as I thought. LAZ suggested we try and tap the ham base for ideas.

Anyway, what we have is a dedicated server setup to run on Windows Server 2003 R2. We plan to use it to host the website as well as the databases needed to store and communicate player information to the actual client. We have successfully setup the SQL server and databases. We are able to connect from outside of the local machine with no problems. So now the next step is to get the website up. Initially, I had installed Apache 2 for the web server. I have IIS 6, but I am rather unfamilar with it.

While trying to install PHP 5, I encountered a few issues (from being such a nub with PHP, no doubt). What the PHP is needed for is to run a registration script that will communicate the info into the database, thus eliminating the need to setup game accounts manually. I already have the reg script. It was provided by another private server owner. However, he is unwilling to offer support as to how he managed to get PHP to play nice with MS SQL rather than MySQL.

If it weren't for the fact that I know of numerous other servers running this exact combination (Win 2003, Apache, MSSQL, and PHP), I would have thrown in the towel already.

I have managed to install Apache 2 relatively easy. Through the process of installing PHP, however, I must have messed something up as when I try to run the test php script (generally, when successful it displayed 6 ton of info about PHP), but rather for me it prompts a download for the same php test file instead...

I have a mssql driver to try and convince PHP and MS to play nicely. I just cant seem to get past the PHP install...though I think I just had an idea dawn on me...anyway, if any ideas or more experienced opinions are out there, they will be greatly appreciated.

-KB3RCL, aka Frank Keck III

KC2UGV
06-02-2010, 01:58 PM
Sounds like you need to add this to httpd.conf:



LoadModule php5_module "{Path to php dll file}/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

It might be in the httpd.conf file already, but commented out somewhere. You can just tack it onto the end of the conf file. Restart apache after you change the conf file.

kb3rcl
06-02-2010, 03:49 PM
Sounds like you need to add this to httpd.conf:



LoadModule php5_module "{Path to php dll file}/php5apache2.dll"
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php

It might be in the httpd.conf file already, but commented out somewhere. You can just tack it onto the end of the conf file. Restart apache after you change the conf file.

Thank you. I'll give it a shot. That actually just might be the issue as the tutorial I was following didnt include the path to the dll, just the name. I'll give it a shot and let you know how it works out. Thank you again.

KB3LAZ
06-05-2010, 12:34 AM
Thank you, it worked. Now if only we could get the registration script to communicate with the database, lol.

KC2UGV
06-05-2010, 01:20 PM
Thank you, it worked. Now if only we could get the registration script to communicate with the database, lol.

Does the script come with the appropriate module? There are two different modules, and it's highly dependent on which one they used in the script.